This site requires JavaScript to be enabled
IE BUMPER
About Carbonite and NAS Devices
IE BUMPER
IE BUMPER

IE BUMPER
 
For WindowsWindowsWindows Only

 

Article Summary
  • Carbonite lets you back up your NAS device provided you are connected to the Internet and your network, and you are logged in to the computer with the user account with which you selected it for back up.
  • When you restore your files, please ensure that the NAS device has the same drive letter as when the files were first backed up with Carbonite.
  • Carbonite NAS feature was developed to support NAS devices. Using Carbonite's NAS backup feature to back up a Windows server is something Carbonite does not recommend and will not support.

 

 

There is a known issue with backing up Synology NAS drives with Carbonite Pro. Synology NAS drives run a software that constantly lock the files stored on them to make them appear open and in use. Because of this lock, Carbonite senses that the files are in use every time they are scanned, and therefore never back the files up.

 

 

About Backing Up NAS Devices

Carbonite has recently implemented a new feature for our Carbonite Pro users which lets you select your NAS (Network Attached Storage) devices for back up. This feature is currently only limited to Carbonite Pro Administrators and Billing Owners. This is in an effort to keep the backups maintained and centralized for each Carbonite Pro account.

Note: While this is a new feature added at no additional cost to you as a user, backing up your NAS device may increase the maximum amount of storage required for your Carbonite Pro account. Carbonite NAS feature was developed to support NAS devices. Using Carbonite's NAS backup feature to back up a Windows server is something Carbonite does not recommend and will not support.

There are a few differences between backing up a NAS device with Carbonite Pro and backing up files on your computer. One difference is the manner in which Carbonite recognizes the changes. When you change a backed up file on your computer, Carbonite will recognize the change immediately and queue the file to be backed up within 24 hours. This process is not entirely the same when selecting NAS devices. When you select a NAS device to be included in your backup, Carbonite will scan the drive at least once an hour and schedule any new or changed files to be backed up within 24 hours*. At this point, there is no way to force the back up of an entire NAS selected backup; however, you can force individual files to be backed up through the Carbonite context menu.

* If you have more data than can be backed up within 24 hours, it will continue backing up until complete.

The other difference is how the NAS device is handled by Carbonite Pro. You need to be a Carbonite Pro Administrator or Billing Owner to be able to select a NAS device for back up. When you select the NAS device, Carbonite will associate that Windows user account with the NAS device. If you switch users, Carbonite will recognize the change and assume that your connection to the NAS device has been lost until you either change the user who the NAS device is assigned to, or log back in to the other user account. When Carbonite notices a NAS device has been disconnected, it will schedule the backed up files to be removed from the Carbonite servers within 60 days.

All the backup policies for a normal Carbonite backup apply to the files on a NAS drive as well, mainly regarding the types of files Carbonite Pro products exclude up by default. These files must still be selected for backup manually.

 

 

About Restoring Your NAS Device

Restoring your backed up files from a NAS device is handled similarly to restoring any other files with Carbonite. When restoring files back to the same location on your NAS device, please ensure that the NAS device has the same drive letter(s) as when it was backed up. Currently, if you try to restore your backed up NAS files without the same drive letter being on the NAS, Carbonite would restore the files to a folder on the C: drive of your computer named the drive letter that was used when it backed up. If you experience a situation like this, there are steps that can be taken to ensure that the files are restored to the correct location.

If you are restoring files individually and do not have the same drive letter on your NAS device as when the files were backed up, please select the Restore To... option to be given a choice on where to restore your file(s).

When using the the backed up NAS files will attempt to restore to the original location. As such, it is usually best to unselect the NAS device from being restored through the Restore Manager, and restore the non-NAS files to your machine first. When you have finished the restore of all the non-NAS files to your computer, you can individually restore the NAS drive to a location of your choosing.

 

 

Best Practices When Handling Carbonite and NAS Devices

The information provided above is helpful to know when you are backing up or restoring your NAS device. However, there are some things that you can do to make this process as simple and easy as possible:

  • Designate a computer that is always on, and connected to the Internet and your workplace network.
  • Create a user account on this computer for the express purpose of backing up, if necessary, so that the user can remain logged in and the backups for the NAS device can perform normally. This will avoid issues that may arise when switching users.
  • Ensure drive letters remain consistent if or when you need to restore your backed up NAS files.
Was this answer helpful?