This site requires JavaScript to be enabled
IE BUMPER
Freezing Your Backup for Safekeeping
IE BUMPER
IE BUMPER

IE BUMPER
 
For WindowsWindowsWindows  (View Mac Article)

 

Article Summary
  • Freezing your backup prevents Carbonite from thinking that you have deleted files and is the recommended state for Carbonite to be in when restoring files.
  • Freezing your backup is useful when you do not want any files from your backup to be removed from the Carbonite servers, or any changes made to your files to be uploaded to your backup.
  • If you transfer your Carbonite subscription to a new computer or if you replace the hard drive on your old computer, Carbonite will automatically start up in this frozen state.
  • You can freeze your backup through the Carbonite InfoCenter or through the Carbonite lock icon.

If these instructions do not match your version of Carbonite, please upgrade by reinstalling.

 

 

About Freezing Your Backup

Freezing your backupA set of copies of your files on our servers. for safekeeping gives you time to restoreTo download files from Carbonite’s servers to your computer. your backed up files to your machine. In this frozen state, no back ups take place and no changes are made to the backup. This is to prevent Carbonite from overwriting your backup with new files, which may not have the information you are looking for, or removing files from your backup if they no longer exist on your computer. Freezing your backup for safekeeping stops the 30 day deletion of data from your backup. When you are restoring files, you should make sure that you freeze your backup for safekeeping.

Note: When Carbonite notices a file is deleted, it will remain on the Carbonite servers for up to 30 days before it is removed from your backup.

 

 

How to Freeze Your Backup

You can keep Carbonite in this frozen state for as long as you need to, but your backup will not be updated. Once you have restored all of your files to your new/repaired computer and would like to begin backing up again, you can unfreeze and resume your backup.

 

 

To freeze your backup for safekeeping, right-click the Carbonite lock iconThe Carbonite lock shaped icon in the notification area by the system clock that opens your InfoCenter. in the notification area and select Freeze Your Backup.

Carbonite Lock Icon

Note: If you do not see the lock, click the show hidden icons button ( < ) next to your Windows notification area to view hidden icons. In Windows 7, click the Show hidden icons button ( ^ ) next to your Windows notification area, to see the Carbonite lock. If you are running Windows 8 and are not viewing the desktop, please press the Windows Key + D on your keyboard to view the desktop.

 

 

When your backup is in this frozen state, the Carbonite lock icon in the notification area changes to blue with a red cross. An alert is then displayed in the Carbonite InfoCenter to advise you that your backup has been frozen.

 

 

This screen shows that your backup is frozen for safekeeping. Here you can restore files and decide whether you wish to unfreeze your backup.

Carbonite InfoCenter: Backup Frozen

 


 

How to Unfreeze Your Backup

You may unfreeze your backup by unchecking Freeze your backup for safekeeping in the Carbonite InfoCenterThe main control center for your Carbonite software.'s Settings tab or with the Carbonite lock icon.

 

 

To unfreeze your backup, right-click the Carbonite lock icon and uncheck Freeze Your Backup.

Note: If you do not see the lock, click the show hidden icons button ( < ) next to your Windows notification area to view hidden icons. In Windows 7, click the Show hidden icons button ( ^ ) next to your Windows notification area, to see the Carbonite lock. If you are running Windows 8 and are not viewing the desktop, please press the Windows Key + D on your keyboard to view the desktop.

 

 

In both cases, unfreezing your backup will display a confirmation window. The confirmation window asks if you have restored all your backed up files to your machine, and if you want to resume your backup.

 

 

If you click Yes, unfreeze my backup, Carbonite will start backing up your machine.

If you click No, keep my backup frozen, your backup will remain frozen for safekeeping.

Unfreezing your Backup

 

 

Any files that were not restored, not selected for back up, or are no longer on your computer before resuming the backup, will remain on the Carbonite servers for up to 30 days before they are removed (if you are on a free trial, they will be deleted 15 days after your free trial has expired).

Was this answer helpful?