This site requires JavaScript to be enabled
IE BUMPER
Removing Backed Up Files from Our Servers
IE BUMPER
IE BUMPER

IE BUMPER
 
For WindowsWindowsWindows  (View Mac Article)

 

Article Summary
  • Removing files and folders is a great way to avoid backing up unnecessary data.
  • Files removed from your backup will be deleted from Carbonite's servers within 72 hours.
  • Deselecting a folder from the backup causes the files and sub-folders within to be removed as well.

 

 

 

Removing Files From Your Backup

Removing files and folders from your backup gives you greater control over how long a back up will take and allows you to exclude any files which you do not want to keep. You can remove files by right-clicking on them and using the Carbonite menu to remove them from your backup. However, if you deleted the file from your computer and would also like it removed from your backup sooner than 30 days, you can open the Carbonite Backup Drive and remove files and folders from your backup. Please choose a method to remove files and folders from your backup:

 


 

How To Remove Files Through Windows Explorer

Removing files through Windows Explorer is usually easier than removing files through the Carbonite Backup Drive as you generally know where the file is on your computer and can quickly access its location.

 

 

Locate and right-click a file you wish to remove and select Carbonite; Don't back this up.

Right-click menu

 

 

The file will be removed from your backupA set of copies of your files on our servers., and the status dot will no longer display. Within 72 hours the file will also be deleted from the Carbonite servers.

The option Don't Back This Up works the same for folders as for files. Removing folders from your backup will also remove the files within them. If you remove a folder from your backup, you will see a confirmation window.

This window informs you that the entire contents of the selected folder will be removed from your backup and displays the total number of files that will be removed.

 

 

Click Yes to remove the folder, and files within, from your backup. Click No to keep the folder, and files within, selected for back up.

Remove Folder Confirmation Window

 

 

After clicking Yes, the folder is removed from your backup and the status dot no longer displays. All files contained in the folder are also removed from your backup.

 


 

How to Remove Files Through the Carbonite Backup Drive

If you cannot locate the file or folder on your computer, you can always remove any backed up files and folders through the Carbonite Backup Drive.

 

 

Double-click the Carbonite lock icon in your Windows notification area to open the Carbonite InfoCenter.

Lock Icon

Note: If you do not see the lock, click the show hidden icons button ( < ) next to your Windows notification area to view hidden icons. In Windows 7, click the Show hidden icons button ( ^ ) next to your Windows notification area, to see the Carbonite lock. If you are running Windows 8 and are not viewing the desktop, please press the Windows Key + D on your keyboard to view the desktop.

 

 

Within the Carbonite InfoCenter, click Restore to view the restore options and click Browse your backup to open the Carbonite Backup Drive.

Restore Tab

 

 

Navigate to the file you wish to remove from your backup. Right-click the file and select Do not back up and the file will be removed from your backup within 72 hours.

Remove the file

 

 

The option Do not back up, works the same for folders as for files. Removing folders from your backup will also remove the files within them. If you remove a folder from your backup, you will see a confirmation window.

This window informs you that the entire contents of the selected folder will be removed from your backup and displays the total number of files that will be removed.

 

 

Click Yes to remove the folder and files contained within the folder from your backup. Click No to keep the folder and selected files contained within the folder included in your backup.

Remove Folder Confirmation Window

 

 

 

After clicking Yes, the folder is removed from your backup and the status dot no longer displays. All files contained in the folder are also removed from your backup.

Was this answer helpful?