This site requires JavaScript to be enabled
IE BUMPER
Restoring All of Your Files
IE BUMPER
IE BUMPER

IE BUMPER
 
For WindowsWindowsWindows  (View Mac Article)

 

Article Summary
  • You can use the Restore Manager to restore all files in your backup to a new or repaired PC.
  • Restoring all of your files with the Restore Manager lets you move your backed up data to a different PC in the simplest manner.

 

If these instructions do not match your version of Carbonite, please upgrade by reinstalling.

 

 

Note: Currently Carbonite does not support the ability to restore from your PC to your Mac or vice versa.

 

 

How to Open the Restore Manager

The Restore Manager can be used if you already have Carbonite installed or if you need to install Carbonite and restoreTo download files from Carbonite’s servers to your computer.. If you are unsure as to whether or not Carbonite is installed, you can check your Windows Notification AreaThe area next to your system clock that contains the icons of the programs you are running. or your Start MenuThe Windows icon in the lower left hand corner of your screen that allows access to “All Programs”. for Carbonite.

 

 

Please choose the scenario that best fits your situation:

 

 

Carbonite is already installed on your PC

If Carbonite is already installed on your computer, you can open the Restore Manager and begin restoring your files to your computer.

 

 

First, open the Carbonite InfoCenter by double-clicking the Carbonite lock icon in your Windows notification area.

Lock Icon

Note: If you do not see the lock, click the show hidden icons button ( < ) next to your Windows notification area to view hidden icons. In Windows 7, click the Show hidden icons button ( ^ ) next to your Windows notification area, to see the Carbonite lock. If you are running Windows 8 and are not viewing the desktop, please press the Windows Key + D on your keyboard to view the desktop.

 

 

The Carbonite icon above indicates that your backup is frozen for safekeeping. If your icon is not the same as the one above, please right-click the Carbonite lock icon and select Freeze my Backup.

 

 

After double-clicking the Carbonite lock icon, the InfoCenterThe main control center for your Carbonite software. will indicate that your backup is frozen for safekeeping.

Click Restore files to go to the Restore tab of the Carbonite InfoCenter.

Carbonite InfoCenter: Your Backup Is Frozen For Safekeeping

 

 

Click Restore all files to launch the Restore Manager.

Carbonite InfoCenter: Restore

 

 

Click Next to start using the Restore Manager.

Carbonite Restore Manager

 

 

If Carbonite is NOT installed on your PC

Go to https://account.carbonite.com and log in using your email address and Carbonite password. Once logged in, click Restore for the backup you would like to transfer and restore to this computer. You will see a pop-up box showing you two options to restore your files.

 

 

Within the pop-up box, click Complete Restore to begin the installation steps and go through the process of restoring all of your files to your computer.

If you would rather restore just a few files, please click here to learn how to restore your files with the Carbonite Backup Drive.

click complete restore to finish the installation

Note: If, during the installation process, you are unable to see a button to proceed, you may need to adjust your browser's zoom settings by holding the CTRL key on your keyboard and pressing the + or - key to zoom in or out on your keyboard.

 

 

Click here to learn how to use the Restore Manager to help you restore your files. If you do not wish to restore your backup, click Cancel to exit the Restore Manager, and you can restore your files at a later time using the instructions for If Carbonite is already installed on your PC.

 

 

How to Use the Restore Manager

The Restore Manager guides you through a simple process to restore your backed up files, restoring them in a particular order and restoring other backed up data on your computer.

 

 

Match User Accounts

When you run through the Restore Manager, you will be shown a list of user accounts which have been backed up with Carbonite. You can match these backed up user accounts to new locations on your computer.

Carbonite scans your computer to try and match user accounts in your backup with what is on your computer. Once complete, it will list your usernames backed up with Carbonite and if the username exists on the new computer it will match them. Ensure that all the user accounts match accordingly and click Next to continue.

Restore Manager: Matching User Accounts

Note: If your backed up user does not exist on the new computer, you can use the drop down list(s) to match accounts or create new windows users.

 


 

Restore Additional Data

By default, the Restore Manager will restore all of your backed up data to your computer. This step lets you choose to restore other backed up data, that is not within your user accounts, back to your computer.

The default option is to always restore files backed up in locations outside of the users folder to their original locations. If you have manually added files or folders on additional internal or external hard drives, the letter of the backed up drive will also appear in the list. If there is a drive present on the computer to which you are restoring at the same letter, it will restore to that location. If there is not a drive present at that letter, it will restore to a folder on the C Drive with the name of the drive letter (e.g. F:\ will restore to C:\F\).

 

 

If you do not wish to restore your other backed up data, which is not within your user accounts, unmark the checkbox for the specific data and click Next.

Otherwise, leave the checkboxes marked and click Next.

Restore Manager: Restore Additional Data

If you choose not to restore additional backed up data and resume your backup, any data not restored will be removed from your backup within 30 days.

 

 

Prioritize Your Restore

The next step of the Restore Manager is to let Carbonite restore your selected files in any order, or to go through your backup and select files and folders to restore before the rest of your backup.

 

 

Here you can choose to restore certain files before others in your backup. Select Restore files in any order for Carbonite to restore the files automatically to your computer and click Next to continue.

Restore Manager: Prioritize Your Restore

If you wish to restore certain files or folders before the rest of your backup, you can select Choose some files to restore first and click Next.

 


 

Review Restore Selections

After you have finished making your selections you will be able to review and edit any selections you have made before starting your restore.

 

 

Here you can review your selections. Click Edit to make any changes to a particular section. Once you are satisfied with your choices, click Start Restore Now to begin your restore.

Restore Manager: Review selections

 

 

Restore Progress

Once your restore has started, you will be able to review the overall and individual progress of your restore.

 

 

Your overall progress will be displayed within the main area of the window. The individual progress of your restore, beginning with the files you selected to be restored first, will be shown within the Restore List.

Restore Manager: Restore Progress

 

 

After your restore has started, Carbonite recommends that you keep your computer on and that your backup remains frozen for safekeeping until your restore has completed. Your restore may take time to complete.

If you wish to adjust your computer's hibernate and sleep settings to ensure your computer remains powered, click here. In addition to the power settings, you may want to temporarily disable Windows Automatic Updates until your restore has completed.

 

 

After your restore completes, you will see a summary of your restore displayed. You can view a restore report or continue your backup. Click Done to resume your backup.

Restore Manager: Your Restore Is Complete

 

 

If you would like to unfreeze your backup and start backing up your computer again, mark the checkbox that you understand Carbonite's deletion policy and click Yes.

Otherwise, click No and your backup will remain frozen for safekeeping.

Restore Manager: Resume Your Backup

 

 

If you are having difficulty locating your files after you have finished restoring, you can use the Restore Report to help you search for them.

 

 

Restoring All Your Files

 

Was this answer helpful?